top of page

Yes! It's a T.I.E.!

So, we got some speeders, we got a walker, and we got some figures... but what about the stars? How are we going to reach to the stars with our wars?

With a T.I.E.!!

With the AT-ST being one of my favorite ground verhicles, the T.I.E. fighters are absolute one of my favorite spaceships! There for I just had to build at least one T.I.E.!

The TIE Series was a series of starfighters and vehicles designed by Sienar Fleet Systems. TIE series starfighters shared a general design form of a roughly spherical or cylindrical cockpit pod attached to a set of solar panels.

The TIE series derived its name from the SIE-TIE twin ion engine. All TIE series starfighters had two or more ion engine outlets, linked to a solar ionization reactor and solar array wings. Because of the nature of their engines, the TIE series also had a distinct sound uttered whenever they flew about.

Ships in the TIE series were usually armed with one or more laser cannons. More advanced fighters were equipped with a variety of warhead launchers, and the TIE Avenger and TIE Defender could be fitted with a small-scale tractor beam. Very few TIE starfighters were equipped with combat shielding. This lack of shielding was a factor toward the TIEs extreme speed.

Ships in the TIE series were piloting by one TIE pilot and in some models they were assited by an Astromech droid. Distinguished by all-blackflight suits and bulky, full-enclosed, vacuum-sealed helmets, the Galactic Empire at its height produced millions of TIE pilots and generally considered them expendable assets. The TIE pilots formed the elite of the Imperial Navy's Flight Branch.

One of the most notable TIE pilots was Han Solo, who later turned galactic smuggler.

This was one of the most exciting builds I've done until now. My son loved it, and I loved it even more to see him running throug our livingroom with this little spaceship in his hand and making that beautiful "Iiiiieeeeuuuuvvvvv" sound while steering the T.I.E. in the most specials stunts. This is why I build this stuf!

bottom of page