top of page

Let's go for a walk!

Without telling my son about my next project, I started to build some serious walking equipment! I thought that those hovering verhicles are nice, but let's get those feet ON the ground for ones...

This is absolute one of my favorite Star Wars verhicles! Ladies and gentleman... the All Terrain Scout Transporter... or AT-ST!

The AT-ST, also known as the chicken walker for its two-legged design, was a bipedal walker used by the Galactic Republic during the late Clone Wars and, later and more extensively, by the Galactic Empire during the Galactic Civil War.

The stock model was equipped with a medium, chin-mounted, double blaster cannon, a blaster cannon on the port side, a concussion grenade launcher on the starboard side of its head, two clawed feet, and was encased with 9095-T8511 grade durasteel.

The AT-ST was designed to be a recon, hit-and-run vehicle. It was lighter than its bigger brother, the AT-AT, and could withstand standard blaster fire, but was vulnerable to heavy laser fire and missiles, as well as physical attacks to the legs and the side of the head.

The 8.6-meter-tall walkers were piloted by a crew of two Imperial Army pilots and carried 200 kilograms of cargo. The bipedal propulsion system was one of the primary weaknesses of the AT-ST. On even terrain, the walker could achieve over 90 kilometers per hour, but on uneven or shifting terrain, a walker could quickly become unbalanced enough to fall over.

The reactions of my son was worth all the trouble this little walker gave me during the building process! He was so happy with it, that I spontanious forgot the balancing issues I had with this walking monster... I still can't get it how they do that at Hasbro with the plastic toys!? Well, I think it turned out nice, and my son is mega happy with it, so I'm happy with it to!

Text source: Wookieepedia

bottom of page